I LOVE MAKING PEOPLE HAPPY AND MAKEUP HELPS ME DO THAT_ Temi

Hello  everyone.

Today I got a chance to interview a great girl and a personal friend of mine, Miss. Temitope Osunboyejo. In this interview, she gives us a brief insight into her life and business as she shares her inspiring story with us.

image
Miss. Temi Osunboyejo C.E.O @makupbyTemi

Temi, thanks for your time. I know you’re a busy girl right now, could you please tell us a bit about you, when and how you started your career?

My name is Osunboyejo Temitope. A microbiology graduate of the University of Lagos and a budding professional makeup artist. I learnt makeup artistry while I was still in school in a Daystar Skill Acquisition Program (DSAP). This was during a six month strike that occurred at the time,  so I just did it to pass time.

How long have you been doing makeup?

Professionally, I’d say for about a year and some months.

Why makeup artistry, why not any other industry?

I love making people happy, and makeup helps me do that. That smile after you’ve handed them a mirror when you are done is everything.

What do you love most about doing makeup?

I feel fulfilled when a client genuinely smiles after having a face beat or brows done. It gives me lots of joy. I also love how makeup is able to take you from a 0 to a 100.

image
Trust your slay girl

What sets you apart from other makeup artists?

Uhmm. What sets me apart? Well, I honestly hate to see bad brows ( laughs).  I dislike the idea of  “drawn on brows”. Nah. I like to make my clients’ brows as soft and as natural as possible. It all depends on the look we’re trying to achieve anyway. And I’m also very big on skin. I love the matte flawless finish. So basically, I’ll say, whether it’s  neutral or bold look, my main goal is to make my client feel comfortable and look as flawless as possible. Most importantly, I’m a firm believer of the quote “Less is more” and I work with that.

What kind of products do you use?

I use a variety of products, ranging from drugstore to high end.

image
@makeupbyTemi

Drugstore to high end, you mean like drugs, that could lead you to the end? I’m sorry can you please explain that…

(laughs) Nooo. Drugstore is used to refer to affordable makeup products you can readily get. High end products on the other hand are those considered to be very expensive and not readily available.

I see, new one learned. It’s just as if I’m in a makeup class right now. I should ask you this before I forget, can you teach me to do my own makeup?

(laughs loudly) I doubt if I can help with that honestly. I like to take my time…

In other words, you were a good student but not so much of a teacher?

Well, if it doesn’t involve the application of liquid eye liner, I could teach you sometime.

I’ll let you know as soon as I’m ready and I bet interested readers would do too.Where do you get your inspiration from?

The fear of being irrelevant is what drives me most times.

Who are some of the people that have inspired you throughout your career?

A lot of people really. But let’s just narrow it down to family and friends. Then as for makeup artists I look up to, Ellarie gives me life.

Ellarie, beautiful name, but to be honest, I don’t have the faintest idea who that is…

She’s a Black American makeup artist. I discovered her on  YouTube. She’s really amazing.

Does everyone look better with makeup?

Everyone looks nice with makeup.

Are you sure about that, my mum specifically points out that I look better with a makeup free face.

Laughs.

Do you wear makeup?

Sometimes. But I’ve been wearing a lot of makeup these days come to think of it. Makeup has helped me to boost my confidence.

image
@makeupbyTemi takes you from a 0 to a 100

If a customer asks for a style that you know wouldn’t suit them, how do you convince the customer to go otherwise?

I’ll politely tell them to try a different look that would work better for them. Makeup is supposed to work in your favour not against it.

Applied makeup for special events? If so, please name some…

I entered for the second season of the Fayrouzloriginal competition, that was a special event for me. I’ve also done bridal makeup as well for weddings.

Wow, so how far did you go with that, the Fayrouzloriginal competition I mean?

We were able to make it only through the first stage. But it was a lot of fun, I enjoyed every bit of it.

image
Fayrouzloriginal entry @makeupbyTemi

image
Fayrouzloriginal entry @makeupbyTemi

Hmm, I like that, so what did you learn and what do you think you should have done differently?

I learnt teamwork, how to exercise patience at certain times and also how to handle constructive criticisms. Looking back now, I believe if we had worked better with colours, location and outfit, we would have gotten farther than we did.

What have been some of your greatest challenges?

Hmm, well I was born with clubfeet. I’ve had series of surgeries and physical therapy is still on. There’s a slight limp when I walk, also I’m still trying to get used to walking with feet faced down and this causes a lot of pains. This disability has made people judge me or see me as fragile and unable to perform, but I’ve been able to prove otherwise and I’m still working on that.

That’s so inspiring, I mean thinking about it, the nature of your job requires long hours of standing, imagine the pain felt during those hours, how do you cope?

My physical therapy has helped a lot with that, and there are certain medications I take prior to the time of  work.

I must say,you are  a great girl Temi.

Thank you (smiles).

So far do you think your career has been a success?

Success,yes. I’ve won a few competitions, had the opportunity to work with great people. It’s been good and I believe more is yet to come.Now that I’m done with school, I’m putting in more work and gradually building my portfolio.

image
@MakeupbyTemi

image
@MakeupbyTemi

What are your future plans?

Apart from owning a studio where people can come to get their makeup, hair and nails done. I want to own a beauty company that produces a wide range of makeup products, especially for women of colour

Asides makeup,what else would you do?

Styling and catering.

Is entrepreneuralism something you are born with or something that is learnt?

I like to think it is learnt.

Do you consider yourself an entrepreneur then?

Yes, I do.

Tips or advice for aspiring makeup artists…

Practice. Practice. Practice. Just keep practising. Trust your slay (laughs). Be nice, negative attitudes won’t get you anywhere. Most importantly, have and trust God.

Last words for youths in general…

Be hardworking and do good always, it pays.

Thank you for sharing your time with us.

Yeah, you are welcome.

 

Temi recently launched her own Instagram page @MakeupbyTemi where she shares some of the things she does. You can check it out now.

For bookings and connections, you can reach her via the following addresses:

temitopeosunboyejo@gmail.com

makeupbytemi@gmail.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

