On that beautiful evening

After fourteen market weeks

The moon hung ineptly benign

Sparkling radiantly, a luscious smile

The stars dashingly beading the sky.

I stood beside the old orange tree,

trying to picture you

And trying to fight anxiety

The key word was ‘I Love You’

So I tried to stick to courtesy.

The ambiance was filled with  life

The crickets sounds could attest

I want to let hell loose,

shake hands with the devil

And probably exchange my fears

Bush meat in one hand,

the other ,palm wine for your father

I held faith so strong

As no prize could buy love

Even royalty begs for affection

If love was a crime

If loving you was wrong

Then let me die trying

Than imprisoned by guilt

For what I had never done

 

©Moses Chukwuemeka2017

 

 

Leave a Reply

